Live to Live: Human Experiences in Love and Understanding

Ralph Waldo Emerson“Belief consists in accepting the affirmations of the soul; Unbelief, in denying them.”

Frank Lloyd Wright “The thing always happens that you really believe in; and the belief in a thing makes it happen.”
Approximately 2 1/2 years ago my father-my friend was diagnosed with a advanced case of prostate cancer; doctors were tossing out rates of survival like a judge gives days in jail to Paris Hilton. The outlook, grave, sent me into a tailspin of denial, self loathing, anger, and sorrow. I was self destructing my life as I forgot what was important in this lifetime: Love and Understanding.

I forgot that in order to love and support someone you first must love yourself. The majority of this time my father was in either the hospital, surgery, or treatment. While this was going on, I was working and eating myself into oblivion. I gained 50lbs of fat, stopped working out, and I spent my days and nights wondering when the shoe would drop.

The only thing that kept me going was my mother’s request that I “pray” for my father’s well being. For over a year, every night before hitting the sack, I got down on my knees and prayed for my father to recover from his illness. Slowly I began to feel a understanding, a belief that what I was doing was a positive thing.

One January afternoon (2006) I received a call from my parents–my father’s doctor announced that my father was beating the cancer. His diagnosis had improved immensely with a real hope for a longer and healthier life. I finally understood–belief in prayer and belief in the power within are important to leading a real life.

I felt empowered by my belief that I had a role in helping my father’s condition improve. I stopped working too much, I began eating healthy foods, I started lifting and running in order to transform myself. After 11 weeks, I lost 52lbs and I created a new mantra from which to live:”Understand the Power Within which we all can tap into at anytime.”

I realized and understood that my fears were directly related to my inability to have faith and belief in myself and my surroundings. I finally had a new platform “Live to Live.”

Today despite my occasional misplaced faith, I am a positive person with a new business and new love for which I am grateful.

Are you living to live? Do you believe in yourself? Are you fighting your fears? If you do not like the answers you gave to these questions take comfort. Change is as simple as getting out of your own way and replacing your fears with belief!

Best wishes for a life well lived. . .

Leave a Reply

