4 thoughts on “Twitter Strategies: Twitter List Etiquette

  1. i just commented on another blg to the controvery of thanking for every re-tweet and i disagree. either i put s.. in a list because i see him/her as a valuable twitter-user in this list or i don’t. i expect no thanks for thas, in fact it would throw me off. social niceties are good in some places but here we are rationally SORTING who fits with whom in a good list, the goal ist a list that works, so that i myself might gahter good comments re this topic in one place and so that other people might want to follow the list. these goals will be fulfilled without any thank-you.s at all. it is a question of instrinsic vs. extrinsic motivation. too many people believe, pleope will only do things for a reward (minimum a thank you) but studies show again and again, that other parts in the brain get activated if we expect SOMETHING for our actions. so consider that people might want to put you in their lists because they WANT to do it. and if you go rollerscating (or whatever) because you WANT TO you neither expect a thank-you nor would it feel right. right?

  2. 2 questions. please
    1. why is the headline to my comment “NO COMMENTS YET”?
    2. i thought the little pictures in blogs and comments were the twitter-pictures of the people, but mine ws not used. may i ask why not? i prefer reading comments fr. peope with picture (your certainsly is nice and big and wonderful at the start of your blog). so why?
    thank you
    vfb

  3. Birkenbihl,
    Let me take the #2 two questions first:
    1. “Why is the headline to my comment ‘NO COMMENTS YET’ A: Because I have control over which comments are published and I had not reviewed my comments until today
    2. “I thought the little pictures in blogs and comments were the twitter-pictures of people, but mine was not used?” A: these “little pictures” are called avatars which must be loaded. Google search to find instructions on how to load an avatar.

  4. Birkenbihl,

    Now to your first questions or commentary. . . This is exactly what I tell people in my introduction before any workshop, speech, or webinar:

    “The strategies or methodologies I am about to describe are my opinions. I believe in what I am about to share with you. I am NOT trying to convince you to believe in my content. It is up to you what you do with my content- it is NOT my job to convince you to adopt my strategies or ideology.”

    If you don’t want to use my tips or strategies, I hope they at least made you think about a different way to approach people on Twitter. Good luck!

    Dean

Leave a Reply

