Twitter Strategies: 7 Day Waiting Period On Direct Messages

DM spam

Holy smokes Scott this is the lamest attempt to persuade me to do anything-  let alone what I already do in my business. Did you even look at my bio my friend? Do I really “Rock”?  Wow what an offer how can I refuse?– deansguide

The worst aspect of Twitter, the microblogging sensation with multiple benefits, is their implementation of a Direct Message feature. Known as a “DM”, this feature has morphed into the biggest spam tool and channel on the social network. Affiliate marketers, Multi Level Marketers, hard sell rip off artists, and anyone with a scam can (and WILL) deliver their messages.

The problem of DM spam is so previlant that the majority of savvy Twitter users do not monitor this channel more than once a week. What can Twitter do about this problem?

3 Twitter Ideas To Curb DM Spam

  • 7 days: require a 7 day waiting period before a DM can be sent when a follow-follower relationship has been established
  • Opt In-Out: create a opt in-out option where Twitterers can either choose to receive DMs or turn the DM channel off
  • Penalties: automatically penalize Twitter spammers who violate “content regulations” created to stem the tide of unwanted hard sell sales pitches and phishing activities
4 thoughts on “Twitter Strategies: 7 Day Waiting Period On Direct Messages

  1. I like the 7 day waiting period and opt out provisions. I also have an effective way to reduce DM SPAM. I’m pretty selective about whom I follow. Just because you follow me does not automatically mean I will follow back. I’ll look at your twit stream and determine the value of your information. If I see mostly messages about your latest MLM scam or your business or how I can make my teeth white, I’m not likely to follow. I believe in free speech, so I am not trigger happy on the block button. A couple things that will automatically get you blocked and/or reported as SPAM:

    1. Send me an @reply pimping your business. When I find out you have zero followers and are following no one, Block & SPAM

    2. Follow me and let me find something in your twit stream about looking at your dirty pictures, Block & SPAM

    3. If I follow you and you send me even ONE DM pimping your business, Block & SPAM

    It’s working pretty well so far.

  2. good one!
    and then i discovered yesterday the “@”spam that was new to me but i clicked on the twit name and reported blocked as spam.. seems to work..thanks for all your efforts to retain some of the initial good that is twitter!
    sincerely

    ea

  3. Pingback: 4 Ways Twitter Could Eliminate DM Spam « DeansGuide

Leave a Reply

